Spetskrage

Days are getting longer, the autumnal equinox was last week. And I can’t get enough of grey wool.

Lace cowl
Lace cowl

Pattern: Spetskrage (Lace cowl) from Varmt & stickat
Design: Erika Åberg
Yarn: 1-ply lace weight grey wool from the Jakobsdal woolen mill
Yarn source: Sätergläntan
Needles: 4,5 mm
Started: 11 July 2015
Finished: 6 August 2015
Modifications: I made it slightly shorter, only about 30 cm instead of 50 cm.

The designer is my talented friend Erika, who is an expert at finding the beauty in simple things.

The pattern is a simple and easy lace pattern repeat that is very easy to remember. After the first row you don’t need to look at the description, it’s pure knitting joy.

Lace cowl
Lace cowl

I’m working on a shawl in the same pattern and yarn. I need to wrap myself in grey wool.

I picked up the yarn at Sätergläntan many years ago. It’s a 1-ply lace weight yarn from the Jakobsdal spinning mill. I bought a huge cone without a plan. It’s now coming to good use. It has quite a lot of lanolin in it, and it smells like sheep. I love it. And I have lots of it. I don’t think the spinning mill is running any more.

One thought on “Spetskrage

  1. Kragen är så vacker! Jag älskar halsduken med samma mönster och har stickat tre stycken hitintills med garn från Färgkraft. Har en fjärde på gång för jag kan bara ine låta bli. Perfekt stickning när man bara vill sticka, utan att tänka och räkna. Håller med om att Erika Åberg är begåvad. Jag gillar hennes “less is more-attityd” där garnerna får komma till sin rätt.

Leave a comment