Last days of Christmas holiday

I had grands plans for this Christmas holiday. Lots of good food, family, friends, christmas decorations and all that stuff, of course. But I was also going to study for my next exam. I had also planned on some mending. Replacing a broken zipper, replacing the edge of a sleeve on my favourite dress. Darning some socks.

I did do the food and decorations and family and friends bit (not as much as planned, but some of it), but this awful cold drained me of most of my energy, which means that I haven’t studied at all except for about an hour and I haven’t mended a single thing.

Work starts on Tuesday again, and I thought I might do some studying now that I’m better (but still not well). But after careful consideration I’ve decided not to. I want to savour these last two days of the holidays and only do nice things. It might be stupid, and it means I will have to do a loy of studying in the evenings during the next two weeks (not to mention next weekend) and I might not do as well on the exam as I could have, but there it is.

So, I spent the morning blocking the finished pieces of my cardigan (I’m still working on the sleeves):

Blocking my red cardigan
Yes, the tree is still there!

And then I had lunch:

Lunch
Homemade bread, cheese and pickled onion sandwich pickle

Vincent tried to rip out the pins so I asked Laban to guard my knitting

Laban is guarding my knitting
Good kitty

Which turned out to be exhausting work.

...and it is exhausting work
Tired kitty

I’m gonna spend the rest of the day knitting.

That is all.

5 thoughts on “Last days of Christmas holiday

  1. You and I had the same plans and experienced the same thing. I didn’t do that much friends and family either because of this awful cold. And all the plans I had for this week off … forget it! I feel better but my nose is still running. I have work tomorrow and decided to do the same as you — instead of not studying, I chose not to check my work phone. Today I’m going to make some soup, scones, knit/crochet and get ready for the Downton Abbey premier tonight.

    Sometimes we just have to choose what good for us over what we should do. Glad you made the choice to enjoy your last two days of vacation. Good luck with the studying when you start and btw … lovely cardigan. I can see why you wanted to work on it today. Cheers!

  2. så tråkigt att förkylningen satte stopp för dina planer:(

    men att tillbringa dagen med att sticka – det låter som en bra plan:)

  3. Har just hittat din underbara blogg.
    Har läst igenom alltihop.
    Alltihop…
    Hörde du?
    ….mer… snälla…

Leave a Reply

