Striped mittens, Christmas markets and baking

Just in time for winter, I finished a pair of soft woolly mittens.

Striped mittens Alice
My Alice mittens

Pattern: Alice
Design: Me
Yarn: Kampes 2-ply 100% wool in grey and charcoal
Yarn source: Marias garn
Needles: 2,75 mm and 3,0 mm dpns
Started: 15 september 2013
Finished: 8 November 2013

I’ve used them quite a lot, it hasn’t been very cold yet, so one layer of wool is quite enough.

Striped mittens Alice
Me and my mittens

Striped mittens Alice
Naturally, they have thumb wedges

I love winter almost as much as I love autumn, and the weeks before Christmas are sometimes more exciting than Christmas itself. I love the planning and preparing.

And Christmas markets. I’ve visited three so far. Here are some photos from the market at the Royal Stable:

DSC_2276
Lovely wool yarn and handknits

DSC_2280

DSC_2268

DSC_2269

DSC_2275
There were horses there as well, of course

The market at Skansen is probably my favourite. I return to it every year.

DSC_2327

DSC_2302

DSC_2303

DSC_2313
Wolves

DSC_2318
A wolverine

I saw a robin in the wolverine’s pen, which made me more exciting that the wolverine itself! Robin’s are my favorite birds, but they’re very rare where I live.

DSC_2322
Darling sheep

DSC_2324
And very cute pigs!

I’ve found myself in a baking mood lately. I’ve made some plain white bread:

DSC_2287

…christmas bread…

DSC_2347

…and saffron buns!

DSC_2284

But don’t worry, I haven’t been neglecting my knitting! I’ve started another pair of mittens:

DSC_2257

…and a cowl:

Söderängskrage
It’s almost finished now, but I have no current photos of it

Happy knitting!

2 thoughts on “Striped mittens, Christmas markets and baking

  1. Vilka fina vantar, dom ser ut som dom perfekta höstvantarna:)

    Nybakat bröd, och lussekatter – det är vääldigt gott:)

    ja, det är mysigt med alla marknader såhär i jultid:)

Leave a Reply

