Jamieson & Smith

Believe it or not, but I still haven’t knit anything with Jamieson & Smith wool. I admit it’s a bit strange since I’m a such a wool snob. I have some J&S yarn in my stash, intended for a Sheep heid hat, but I haven’t actually tried it yet. I’m the kind of person who likes to fondle the yarn in a yarn shop before I buy it. But they have an incredible colour range and I really like the feel of the yarn that I have even though I haven’t actually knit with it.

Well, I’ve finally gotten around to ordering myself all of their shade cards! This will make it a lot easier to choose colours. I won’t have rely on the images on their website.

Jamieson & Smith shade cards
Jamieson & Smith shade cards

I probably won’t order any yarn just yet. I still have quite a lot of shashed yarn that I want to use before I buy more. This might sound a bit boring, but really, it’s not. I really look forward to starting the projects in my queue, but I don’t want to have too many half-finished projects lying around, I know I’ll just end up being bored with them. I need to get better at figuring out what I actually want and/or need and then focus on that. Which means that I probably won’t buy the yarn before I’ve decimated my stash somewhat.

I’m working on two cardigans and one pair of mittens right now, and I really want to finish them before starting anything new. I’ll always have two things going at the same time, one always needs a small portable project to accompany one’s larger projects; a pair of mittens, a hat, a scarf or a pair of socks, that one can whip out at any time when there are a few minutes to spare on the bus or the tube. But I don’t want to have bags and bags of unfinished things. I’m still unravelling old WIP’s (I don’t want to do them all at once, it takes up too much space and time) and putting away the yarn for later use. It’s actually quite satisfying.

Of course my fingers are itching to try something new, but one can handle this by making swatches. Swatches are allowed. That’s just preparing and planning, not actually knitting. ūüôā

Well, time to knit!

Leave a Reply

