Grey legwarmers revisited

How’s you knitting holding up? I mean your knitted items. Do they keep their shape? Has the yarn worn out on your heels? Are there small bobbles all over your sweater? What do we mean when we speak of quality? These things really interest me and I thought it interesting to revisit my old handknitted things and examine their state after years of use.

I thought I’d start at the beginning. Apart from the compulsory knitting in school, I was new to knitting not so long ago. I did use to sew quite a lot, but knitting hadn’t really caught my attention as someting one could actually do. At least not me. But for some reason, one day in early 2004 while I was visiting my mum, I decided that I wanted to learn how to knit. I asked her if she had any yarn and needles and if she could remember how it was done. We did mange to find some dark red acrylic yarn and aluminum needles. My mum is not a knitter, so the yarn had probably been my grandmother’s. Granny was apparently an avid knitted and crafter all around, but I never knew her, she died when I was two.

Anyway, mum picked up the yarn and needles and managed to remember how to cast on. The knit stitch is easy to remember, so she showed me how they’re done and I was off to a flying start! A friend had to teach me purl stitches.

I’ve kept my first wonky little swatches, dropped stitches and all, to remind myself that we’re all beginners at the start. I like to bring them out from time to time just to look at them.

I asked some of my friends, who I knew were knitters, to teach me more and to take me to a yarn shop. I wanted to start with something easy but usable. I decided on a pair of ribbed leg warmers. I’ve always been partial to grey wool so I bought four skeins of grey Drops Alaska from Garnstudio. A friend lended me some double pointed needles (rosewood) and I was off.

Grey leg warmers
Grey legwarmers from 2004

This is my first project. I still wear them during winter, they’re very warm, they do not itch and I think that they still look good even though there are some mistakes here and there. But you only notice if you look closely. I’ve never washed them, so I don’t know how the yarn will behave if you do. They’ve only become a little fuzzy, hardly noticable, but there are no bobbles (no pilling) at all. As far as I can tell, I would say that the yarn is of a fairly good quality. It’s quite bouncy ans soft, but sturdy enough to take quite a lot of wear.

Have you knitted anything with this yarn? What is your experience? Are you happy with it? Would you say that this is a good quality yarn? I would love to know!

I will probably wear these legwarmer again next winter if the weather’s cold enought.

Happy knitting!

2 thoughts on “Grey legwarmers revisited

  1. Vilken bra idé att gå igenom gamla stickprojekt och se hur bra de har hållit. Benvärmare är underbart i kyla. Jag tycker tyvärr allt som oftast att drops garner inte håller i längden men jag tror inte att jag har testat alaska.

  2. God idé! Ofte har jeg tenkt på dette, men bare vurdert ut fra garnet. Har ikke plaggene holdt seg fine, velger jeg et annet garn neste gang, osv. Leggvarmerne dine var innmari søte, de så deilige ut! Jeg har aldri prøvd Drops Alaska, men legger meg det på minne.

Leave a Reply

