September Socks

Welcome to Autumn! The best season of all begins now.

What could be more suitable when the air turns chilly and leaves begin to turn than a pair of wooly socks? As with so many of my projects, I begun these a long time ago, in March 2011, but considering the autumnal palette, they really suit the season. I’m not a converted toe-up sock knitter (yet, at least), but I like that the heel is very similar to a heel made with top-down knitting. I don’t like beginning at the toe, though. I think it’s fiddly. I’ll probably continue to knit socks both top-down and toe-up.

Socks
Autumnal socks, Widdershins in Koigu

Despite loving the colours in the yarn I’ve used, I’m really not that fond of variegated yarn in general. I prefer solids. Especially when using a pattern that calls for lace or cables or other pattern elements that might get lost when using variegated yarns. That’s why I’ve chosen to knit these using a very plain pattern, just simple stocking stitch, nothing fancy. Just letting the colours do the job.

Anyway, I’ve almost finished the pair, so I will soon be able to show you a FO! I actually have two more FO’s to show you, the fingerless mittens and the striped scarf that I worked on earlier this year. I just haven’t had the energy to take pictures, but I promise I’ll do that soon.

Meanwhile, happy knitting!

10 thoughts on “September Socks

  1. I think your socks are lovely. I agree that variegated and busy yarn tend to take away from the more complex patterns, but I think you’ve got a good combo here. Your socks are bringing a much needed splash of colour to your feet just as the days grow shorter and darker.

  2. Uppl√§ggningen √§r lite fishy…f√∂rsta g√•ngerna, men blir l√§ttare och l√§ttare…sedan vinner f√∂rdelarna med att justera l√§ngd efter garn√•tg√•ng och man √§r fast:-)

  3. I too think that your socks are lovely, although I agree with you that solid yarn show off the sock the best in most cases. However variegated yarns when knitting fair isle socks is very pretty:)

    1. Balkongl√•dor har jag, men de inneh√•ller bara blommor. Det √§r f√∂r mycket skrutt i luften d√§r jag bor f√∂r att jag skulle vilja √§ta det som vistas p√• min balkong, tyv√§rr…

  4. Reminds of me of some Knitpicks yarn I have. I’m with you, I’m not a huge fan of variegated yarns either but this one works with your sock pattern.

Leave a Reply

