Wild thing. You make my heart sing.

I’m sure you read and was fascinated by Maurice Sendak’s book Where the Wild Things Are (1963) when you were a kid just like I was.  I was far from wild and angry like Max in the book, but I wanted a wolf costume just like his and often fantasized about other worlds.

Where the Wild Things Are

I was thrilled when Spike Jonze did his take on the story with the film that came out in 2009. It’s not a very comfortable adaptation, but actually rather disturbing at times. Still comforting. I really like it. And being a knitting nerd, I can’t help but notice The Knits. The boy Max wears a lovely knitted sweater at the beginning of the movie that I find very inspiring. I want that sweater!

Screen caption from Where the Wild Things Are
Max in the movie Where the Wild Things Are

Screen caption from Where the Wild Things Are
Here’s another shot of the sweater

If I’d ever have a go at the wolf costume, I would probably sew one, but if you’d prefer to knit it, Tiny Owls Knits has designed a pattern including the crown! Perhaps I have to knit one, now that I think about it…

2 thoughts on “Wild thing. You make my heart sing.

  1. Verkligen snygg tröja. Jag har taggat dig i en frågeutmaning, om du har lust att delta hittar du frågorna på riotyarn.wordpress.com

  2. Hi, just a cautionary note…I just finished a hat very much like that sweater patttern and many rows had 4!!! colors in them…it was not easy.

Leave a Reply

