Coraline

I might have mentioned it before, but Coraline really is a brilliant film. I love stop-motion animation in general, but this movie really is special. It has such wonderful and inspiring characters and scenography. I want to live in that house! With a jumping mice circus upstairs! And I also want those groovy stripey gloves and that cosy blue jumper with stars on. The best part is that one can actually knit those things! No, I don’t mean the miniture ones, I mean real sized garments. There’s a girl in California who has actually made a pattern of the striped gloves! How cool is that?! Here’s a link.


Official movie trailer

The official Coraline website provids fans with an actaul knitting pattern for that adorable starry jumper, talk about knowing one’s fan base! I must knit this. Eventually.

coraline sweater
Coraline and the starry jumper. Photo credits: Focus Features

There are a lot of knitting patterns and projects inspired by this movie on ravelry, for instance the Coraline cardigan by Ysolda (perhaps the most well-known), but also a pair of lovely mittens with the cat, the key and one of the jumping mice. There’s also a crocheted doll that looks like one of the ghost children.

I simply love these kinds of projects! Inspiration can be found anywhere. Well, I’m off searching my yarn stash for some suitable yarn for those stripey gloves…

Oh, I just want to mention that the intro to the movie may be my favourite part, where the beldam creates the Coraline doll. Unfortunately I can’t find it on Youtube.

2 thoughts on “Coraline

Leave a Reply

