We’re Half Way There

I still have a lot of UFO’s but not so many WIP’s. It used to be the other way around. I’m not claiming that this is an improvement, I know that some people love to have a whole bunch of WIP’s on the go. I used to be one of them, but I’m not anymore. I’m perfectly happy to be working on two (or three at the most) projects at the same time. The one project that has been occupying the majority of my knitting time are these mittens:

first wurst mitten finished
wurst mitten by spillyjane

I recently completed the first one and I’m really, really happy with how it turned out. However, I’m very sorry to say that it’s been mind numbingly boring to knit! It looks great, but the colourwork pattern is very counter-intuitive and has a lot, and I mean a lot, of long floats that need binding. And I dislike that. So very much.

cat and mitten
This picture is only an excuse to show more of Vincent, the little sweetheart!

Just knitting this one mitt has taken me almost two months. Two months! For a bleeding mitt! Well, I really need to finish the pair, because they are for Stefan, and he does not have a pair of mittens right now without holes in them (I’ll get back to the mending issue in a later post). So I’m really trudging along with this project. I’ve done about 25% of the second mitten and I’m only working on this project right now just so that I can finish the bloody thing! Even though I’m casting long gazes on my other WIP’s and longing for picking them up… Sometimes knitting is a chore. Not often, but sometimes.

4 thoughts on “We’re Half Way There

  1. oh, it’s too bad that the knitting of these mittens isn’t more enjoyable for you because the end product is lovely! I especially like how it looks as a ‘petting mitt’ for lovely little Vincent. 🙂

Leave a Reply

